APOD

Subscribe to APOD feed APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 1 hour 3 min ago

A Solar Eclipse with a Beaded Ring of Fire

Thu, 03/02/2017 - 9:07am

What kind of eclipse is this? What kind of eclipse is this?


A White Oval Cloud on Jupiter from Juno

Wed, 03/01/2017 - 9:07am

This storm cloud on Jupiter is almost as large as the Earth. This storm cloud on Jupiter is almost as large as the Earth.


Four Quasar Images Surround a Galaxy Lens

Tue, 02/28/2017 - 9:07am

Four Quasar Images Surround a Galaxy Lens Four Quasar Images Surround a Galaxy Lens


A Supercell Thunderstorm Cloud Over Montana

Mon, 02/27/2017 - 9:07am

Is that a spaceship or a cloud? Is that a spaceship or a cloud?


All Planets Panorama

Sun, 02/26/2017 - 9:07am

All Planets Panorama All Planets Panorama


NGC 3621: Far Beyond the Local Group

Sat, 02/25/2017 - 9:07am

 Far Beyond the Local Group NGC 3621: Far Beyond the Local Group


Seven Worlds for TRAPPIST 1

Fri, 02/24/2017 - 9:07am

Seven worlds orbit the ultracool dwarf star TRAPPIST-1, Seven worlds orbit the ultracool dwarf star TRAPPIST-1,


Daphnis and the Rings of Saturn

Thu, 02/23/2017 - 9:07am

What's happening to the rings of Saturn? What's happening to the rings of Saturn?


An Active Night over the Magellan Telescopes

Wed, 02/22/2017 - 9:07am

The night sky is always changing. The night sky is always changing.


Almost Three Tails for Comet Encke

Tue, 02/21/2017 - 9:07am

How can a comet have three tails? How can a comet have three tails?


Black Sun and Inverted Starfield

Mon, 02/20/2017 - 9:07am

Does this strange dark ball look somehow familiar? Does this strange dark ball look somehow familiar?


Penumbral Eclipse Rising

Sun, 02/19/2017 - 9:07am

As seen from Cocoa Beach Pier, Florida, planet Earth, As seen from Cocoa Beach Pier, Florida, planet Earth,


Polar Ring Galaxy NGC 660

Sat, 02/18/2017 - 9:07am

NGC 660 is featured in NGC 660 is featured in


The Tulip and Cygnus X-1

Fri, 02/17/2017 - 9:07am

Framing a bright emission region, Framing a bright emission region,


The Calabash Nebula from Hubble

Thu, 02/16/2017 - 9:07am

Fast expanding gas clouds mark the end for a Fast expanding gas clouds mark the end for a


The Rosette Nebula

Wed, 02/15/2017 - 9:07am

Would the Would the


Cloud Swirls around Southern Jupiter from Juno

Tue, 02/14/2017 - 9:07am

Juno just completed its fourth pass near Jupiter. Juno just completed its fourth pass near Jupiter.


Comet 45P Passes Near the Earth

Mon, 02/13/2017 - 9:07am

A large snowball has just passed the Earth. A large snowball has just passed the Earth.


Solar System Portrait

Sun, 02/12/2017 - 9:07am

Solar System Portrait Solar System Portrait


Melotte 15 inthe Heart

Sat, 02/11/2017 - 9:07am

Cosmic clouds form Cosmic clouds form


Pages