APOD

Subscribe to APOD feed APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 1 hour 7 min ago

Crescent Enceladus

Fri, 02/10/2017 - 9:07am

Peering from the shadows, the Peering from the shadows, the


The Butterfly Nebula from Hubble

Thu, 02/09/2017 - 9:07am

The bright clusters and nebulae of planet Earth's night sky are often The bright clusters and nebulae of planet Earth's night sky are often


NGC 6357: The Lobster Nebula

Wed, 02/08/2017 - 9:07am

Why is the Lobster Nebula forming some of the most massive stars known? Why is the Lobster Nebula forming some of the most massive stars known?


The Porpoise Galaxy from Hubble

Tue, 02/07/2017 - 9:07am

What's happening to this spiral galaxy? What's happening to this spiral galaxy?


Odysseus Crater on Tethys

Mon, 02/06/2017 - 9:07am

Some moons wouldn't survive the collision.  Some moons wouldn't survive the collision.


Conjunction of Four

Sun, 02/05/2017 - 9:07am

On January 31, a waxing crescent Moon, brilliant Venus, On January 31, a waxing crescent Moon, brilliant Venus,


Milky Way with Airglow Australis

Sat, 02/04/2017 - 9:07am

Milky Way with Airglow Australis Milky Way with Airglow Australis


NGC 1316: After Galaxies Collide

Fri, 02/03/2017 - 9:07am

An example of violence on a cosmic scale, enormous An example of violence on a cosmic scale, enormous


Four Planets Orbiting Star HR 8799

Thu, 02/02/2017 - 9:07am

Does life exist outside our Solar System? Does life exist outside our Solar System?


Where to See the American Eclipse

Wed, 02/01/2017 - 9:07am

Are you planning to see the Are you planning to see the


The Cats Eye Nebula from Hubble

Tue, 01/31/2017 - 9:07am

To some, it may look like a cat's eye. To some, it may look like a cat's eye.


Red Aurora Over Australia

Mon, 01/30/2017 - 9:07am

Why would the sky glow red? Why would the sky glow red?


N159 in the Large Magellanic Cloud

Sun, 01/29/2017 - 9:07am

Over 150 light-years across, this Over 150 light-years across, this


Venus Through Water Drops

Sat, 01/28/2017 - 9:07am

Venus Through Water Drops Venus Through Water Drops


GOES-16: Moon over Planet Earth

Fri, 01/27/2017 - 9:07am

Launched last November 19 from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Launched last November 19 from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station,


Cassinis Grand Finale Tour at Saturn

Thu, 01/26/2017 - 9:07am

Cassini is being prepared to dive into Saturn. Cassini is being prepared to dive into Saturn.


M78 and Orion Dust Reflections

Wed, 01/25/2017 - 9:07am

M78 and Orion Dust Reflections M78 and Orion Dust Reflections


Winter Hexagon over Manla Reservoir

Tue, 01/24/2017 - 9:07am

If you can find Orion, you might be able to find the Winter Hexagon.  If you can find Orion, you might be able to find the Winter Hexagon.


SpaceX Falcon 9 to Orbit

Mon, 01/23/2017 - 9:07am

SpaceX Falcon 9 to Orbit SpaceX Falcon 9 to Orbit


Daphnis the Wavemaker

Sun, 01/22/2017 - 9:07am

Daphnis the Wavemaker Daphnis the Wavemaker


Pages