Meeting Cancelled

No meeting. Brookdale is closed.

APOD

Subscribe to APOD feed APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 9 hours 43 min ago

The Upper Michigan Blizzard of 1938

9 hours 43 min ago

Yes, but can your blizzard do this? Yes, but can your blizzard do this?


Old Moon in the New Moon s Arms

Sun, 01/21/2018 - 9:07am

Also known as the Moon's "ashen glow" or the "Old Moon in the


Clouds in the LMC

Sat, 01/20/2018 - 9:07am

Clouds in the LMC Clouds in the LMC


Blue Comet in the Hyades

Fri, 01/19/2018 - 9:07am

Blue Comet in the Hyades Blue Comet in the Hyades


In the Valley of Orion

Thu, 01/18/2018 - 9:07am

In the Valley of Orion In the Valley of Orion


An Elephant's Trunk in Cepheus

Wed, 01/17/2018 - 9:07am

An Elephant's Trunk in Cepheus An Elephant's Trunk in Cepheus


Rigel and the Witch Head Nebula

Tue, 01/16/2018 - 9:07am

By starlight this eerie visage shines in the dark, By starlight this eerie visage shines in the dark,


Three Galaxies and a Comet

Mon, 01/15/2018 - 9:07am

Diffuse starlight and dark nebulae Diffuse starlight and dark nebulae


Launch and Landing

Sun, 01/14/2018 - 9:07am

A composite of three consecutive exposures, A composite of three consecutive exposures,


Blue Comet PanSTARRS

Sat, 01/13/2018 - 9:07am

Discovered with the PanSTARRS telescope on September 7, 2016, Discovered with the PanSTARRS telescope on September 7, 2016,


RCW 114: A Dragon s Heart in Ara

Fri, 01/12/2018 - 9:07am

 A Dragon s Heart in Ara RCW 114: A Dragon s Heart in Ara


NGC 2623: Merging Galaxies from Hubble

Thu, 01/11/2018 - 9:07am

Where do stars form when galaxies collide? Where do stars form when galaxies collide?


Bright Planetary Nebula NGC 7027 from Hubble

Wed, 01/10/2018 - 9:07am

It is one of the brightest planetary nebulae on the sky -- what should it be named? It is one of the brightest planetary nebulae on the sky -- what should it be named?


Clouds of Andromeda

Tue, 01/09/2018 - 9:07am

What are those red clouds surrounding the Andromeda galaxy? What are those red clouds surrounding the Andromeda galaxy?


A Tether in Space

Mon, 01/08/2018 - 9:07am

One of the greatest unrequited legends of One of the greatest unrequited legends of


Planets on the Wing

Sun, 01/07/2018 - 9:07am

Planets on the Wing Planets on the Wing


Carina over Lake Ballard

Sat, 01/06/2018 - 9:07am

Carina over Lake Ballard Carina over Lake Ballard


M1: The Incredible Expanding Crab

Fri, 01/05/2018 - 9:07am

The Crab Nebula is cataloged as M1, the first on The Crab Nebula is cataloged as M1, the first on


The Helix Nebula from CFHT

Thu, 01/04/2018 - 9:07am

Will our Sun look like this one day?  Will our Sun look like this one day?


Unexpected X Rays from Perseus Galaxy Cluster

Wed, 01/03/2018 - 9:07am

Why does the Perseus galaxy cluster shine so strangely in one specific color of X-rays? Why does the Perseus galaxy cluster shine so strangely in one specific color of X-rays?


Pages