APOD

Subscribe to APOD feed APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 1 hour 7 min ago

Layer Cake Sunset

Sat, 01/21/2017 - 9:07am

On January 18 a tantalizing sunset was captured in this snapshot. On January 18 a tantalizing sunset was captured in this snapshot.


The Elephant's Trunk Nebula in Cepheus

Fri, 01/20/2017 - 9:07am

Like an illustration in a galactic Like an illustration in a galactic


Space Station Vista: Planet and Galaxy

Thu, 01/19/2017 - 9:07am

If you could circle the Earth aboard the International Space Station, what might you see? If you could circle the Earth aboard the International Space Station, what might you see?


Fly Me to the Moon

Wed, 01/18/2017 - 9:07am

No, this is not a good way to No, this is not a good way to


Geostationary Highway through Orion

Tue, 01/17/2017 - 9:07am

Geostationary Highway through Orion   Geostationary Highway through Orion


The Matter of the Bullet Cluster

Mon, 01/16/2017 - 9:07am

What's the matter with the Bullet Cluster? What's the matter with the Bullet Cluster?


Stardust in the Perseus Molecular cloud

Sun, 01/15/2017 - 9:07am

Clouds of stardust drift through this deep skyscape. Clouds of stardust drift through this deep skyscape.


When Mars met Neptune

Sat, 01/14/2017 - 9:07am

On January 1, a On January 1, a


Edge On NGC 891

Fri, 01/13/2017 - 9:07am

Edge On NGC 891 Edge On NGC 891


Mimas, Crater, and Mountain

Thu, 01/12/2017 - 9:07am

Mimas is an icy, crater-pocked moon of Saturn a Mimas is an icy, crater-pocked moon of Saturn a


Sentinels of a Northern Sky

Wed, 01/11/2017 - 9:07am

Who guards the north? Who guards the north?


In the Center of Spiral Galaxy NGC 5033

Tue, 01/10/2017 - 9:07am

What's happening in the center of spiral NGC 5033? What's happening in the center of spiral NGC 5033?


IC 4406: A Seemingly Square Nebula

Mon, 01/09/2017 - 9:07am

How can a round star make a square nebula?  How can a round star make a square nebula?


Sharpless 249 and the Jellyfish Nebula

Sun, 01/08/2017 - 9:07am

Normally faint and elusive, the Jellyfish Nebula is caught in Normally faint and elusive, the Jellyfish Nebula is caught in


New York Harbor Moonset

Sat, 01/07/2017 - 9:07am

Moonset on January 1 is captured in this sea and night sky snapshot Moonset on January 1 is captured in this sea and night sky snapshot


Peculiar Galaxies of Arp 273

Fri, 01/06/2017 - 9:07am

Peculiar Galaxies of Arp 273 Peculiar Galaxies of Arp 273


Peculiar Galaxies of Arp 273

Thu, 01/05/2017 - 9:07am

Peculiar Galaxies of Arp 273 Peculiar Galaxies of Arp 273


Clouds of Andromeda

Thu, 01/05/2017 - 9:07am

The beautiful Andromeda Galaxy is often imaged by The beautiful Andromeda Galaxy is often imaged by


Pandora Close up at Saturn

Thu, 01/05/2017 - 9:07am

What do the craters of Saturn's small moon Pandora look like up close?  What do the craters of Saturn's small moon Pandora look like up close?


Comet 45P Returns

Thu, 01/05/2017 - 9:07am

An old comet has returned to the inner Solar System. An old comet has returned to the inner Solar System.


Pages