APOD

Subscribe to APOD feed APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 1 hour 3 min ago

Southern Jupiter from Perijove 3

Sun, 12/18/2016 - 9:07am

Southern Jupiter looms some 37,000 kilometers away in Southern Jupiter looms some 37,000 kilometers away in


Meteors vs Supermoon

Sat, 12/17/2016 - 9:07am

Meteors vs Supermoon Meteors vs Supermoon


Seagull to Sirius

Fri, 12/16/2016 - 9:07am

This broad, beautiful mosaic spans almost 20 degrees across This broad, beautiful mosaic spans almost 20 degrees across


The Lagoon Nebula in High Definition

Thu, 12/15/2016 - 9:07am

Stars are battling gas and dust in the Lagoon Nebula Stars are battling gas and dust in the Lagoon Nebula


Meteors over Four Girl Mountains

Wed, 12/14/2016 - 9:07am

On some nights it rains meteors. On some nights it rains meteors.


Over Saturns Turbulent North Pole

Tue, 12/13/2016 - 9:07am

The Cassini spacecraft's The Cassini spacecraft's


The Extraordinary Spiral in LL Pegasi

Mon, 12/12/2016 - 9:07am

What created the strange spiral structure on the left?  What created the strange spiral structure on the left?


The Lunar X

Sun, 12/11/2016 - 9:07am

The striking X appearing in this The striking X appearing in this


IC 4628: The Prawn Nebula

Sat, 12/10/2016 - 9:07am

 The Prawn Nebula IC 4628: The Prawn Nebula


Whirlpool with Comets

Fri, 12/09/2016 - 9:07am

Whirlpool with Comets Whirlpool with Comets


NGC 4696: Filaments around a Black Hole

Thu, 12/08/2016 - 9:07am

What's happening at the center of elliptical galaxy NGC 4696? What's happening at the center of elliptical galaxy NGC 4696?


Aurora over Jupiters South Pole from Juno

Wed, 12/07/2016 - 9:07am

Why is there a glowing oval over Jupiter's South Pole? Why is there a glowing oval over Jupiter's South Pole?


Lightning over Colorado

Tue, 12/06/2016 - 9:07am

Have you ever watched a lightning storm in awe?  Have you ever watched a lightning storm in awe?


Official Star Names for Orion

Mon, 12/05/2016 - 9:07am

Familiar stars in Orion and constellations across the sky now have official names. Familiar stars in Orion and constellations across the sky now have official names.


Galaxies in Pegasus

Sun, 12/04/2016 - 9:07am

Galaxies in Pegasus Galaxies in Pegasus


A Triple Star is Born

Sat, 12/03/2016 - 9:07am

A triple star system is forming, enshrouded within this dusty natal disk A triple star system is forming, enshrouded within this dusty natal disk


Flaming Star Nebula

Fri, 12/02/2016 - 9:07am

Flaming Star Nebula Flaming Star Nebula


Pages