APOD

Subscribe to APOD feed APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 1 hour 7 min ago

A Full Sky Aurora Over Norway

Thu, 01/05/2017 - 9:07am

Higher than the Higher than the


Infrared Trifid

Thu, 01/05/2017 - 9:07am

The Trifid Nebula, The Trifid Nebula,


Lunar Farside

Thu, 01/05/2017 - 9:07am

Tidally locked in Tidally locked in


Pandora Close up at Saturn

Wed, 01/04/2017 - 9:07am

What do the craters of Saturn's small moon Pandora look like up close?  What do the craters of Saturn's small moon Pandora look like up close?


Comet 45P Returns

Tue, 01/03/2017 - 9:07am

An old comet has returned to the inner Solar System. An old comet has returned to the inner Solar System.


A Full Sky Aurora Over Norway

Mon, 01/02/2017 - 9:07am

Higher than the Higher than the


Infrared Trifid

Sun, 01/01/2017 - 9:07am

The Trifid Nebula, The Trifid Nebula,


Lunar Farside

Sat, 12/31/2016 - 9:07am

Tidally locked in Tidally locked in


Shell Game in the LMC

Fri, 12/30/2016 - 9:07am

Shell Game in the LMC Shell Game in the LMC


Curiosity Surveys Lower Mount Sharp on Mars

Thu, 12/29/2016 - 9:07am

If you could stand on Mars -- what might you see? If you could stand on Mars -- what might you see?


M31: The Andromeda Galaxy

Wed, 12/28/2016 - 9:07am

What is the nearest major What is the nearest major


NGC 6357: Stellar Wonderland

Tue, 12/27/2016 - 9:07am

For reasons unknown, NGC 6357 is forming some of the most massive stars ever discovered. For reasons unknown, NGC 6357 is forming some of the most massive stars ever discovered.


The Magnificent Horsehead Nebula

Mon, 12/26/2016 - 9:07am

The Magnificent Horsehead Nebula The Magnificent Horsehead Nebula


Fox Fur, a Unicorn, and a Christmas Tree

Sun, 12/25/2016 - 9:07am

Clouds of glowing hydrogen gas fill this colorful skyscape in the faint Clouds of glowing hydrogen gas fill this colorful skyscape in the faint


Once Upon a Solstice Eve

Sat, 12/24/2016 - 9:07am

Once Upon a Solstice Eve Once Upon a Solstice Eve


An Airplane Glory

Fri, 12/23/2016 - 9:07am

Looking out the window of an airplane, Looking out the window of an airplane,


Traces of the Sun

Thu, 12/22/2016 - 9:07am

Traces of the Sun Traces of the Sun


Sharpless 308: Star Bubble

Wed, 12/21/2016 - 9:07am

Blown by fast winds from a hot, massive star, Blown by fast winds from a hot, massive star,


Supermoon over Spanish Castle

Tue, 12/20/2016 - 9:07am

No, this castle was not built with the Moon attached. No, this castle was not built with the Moon attached.


The Cartwheel Galaxy from Hubble

Mon, 12/19/2016 - 9:07am

To some, it looks like the wheel of a cart. To some, it looks like the wheel of a cart.


Pages