APOD

Subscribe to APOD feed APOD
Astronomy Picture of the Day
Updated: 9 hours 13 min ago

Four Planets Orbiting Star HR 8799

Thu, 02/02/2017 - 9:07am

Does life exist outside our Solar System? Does life exist outside our Solar System?


Where to See the American Eclipse

Wed, 02/01/2017 - 9:07am

Are you planning to see the Are you planning to see the


The Cats Eye Nebula from Hubble

Tue, 01/31/2017 - 9:07am

To some, it may look like a cat's eye. To some, it may look like a cat's eye.


Red Aurora Over Australia

Mon, 01/30/2017 - 9:07am

Why would the sky glow red? Why would the sky glow red?


N159 in the Large Magellanic Cloud

Sun, 01/29/2017 - 9:07am

Over 150 light-years across, this Over 150 light-years across, this


Venus Through Water Drops

Sat, 01/28/2017 - 9:07am

Venus Through Water Drops Venus Through Water Drops


GOES-16: Moon over Planet Earth

Fri, 01/27/2017 - 9:07am

Launched last November 19 from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Launched last November 19 from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station,


Cassinis Grand Finale Tour at Saturn

Thu, 01/26/2017 - 9:07am

Cassini is being prepared to dive into Saturn. Cassini is being prepared to dive into Saturn.


M78 and Orion Dust Reflections

Wed, 01/25/2017 - 9:07am

M78 and Orion Dust Reflections M78 and Orion Dust Reflections


Winter Hexagon over Manla Reservoir

Tue, 01/24/2017 - 9:07am

If you can find Orion, you might be able to find the Winter Hexagon.  If you can find Orion, you might be able to find the Winter Hexagon.


SpaceX Falcon 9 to Orbit

Mon, 01/23/2017 - 9:07am

SpaceX Falcon 9 to Orbit SpaceX Falcon 9 to Orbit


Daphnis the Wavemaker

Sun, 01/22/2017 - 9:07am

Daphnis the Wavemaker Daphnis the Wavemaker


Layer Cake Sunset

Sat, 01/21/2017 - 9:07am

On January 18 a tantalizing sunset was captured in this snapshot. On January 18 a tantalizing sunset was captured in this snapshot.


The Elephant's Trunk Nebula in Cepheus

Fri, 01/20/2017 - 9:07am

Like an illustration in a galactic Like an illustration in a galactic


Space Station Vista: Planet and Galaxy

Thu, 01/19/2017 - 9:07am

If you could circle the Earth aboard the International Space Station, what might you see? If you could circle the Earth aboard the International Space Station, what might you see?


Fly Me to the Moon

Wed, 01/18/2017 - 9:07am

No, this is not a good way to No, this is not a good way to


Geostationary Highway through Orion

Tue, 01/17/2017 - 9:07am

Geostationary Highway through Orion   Geostationary Highway through Orion


The Matter of the Bullet Cluster

Mon, 01/16/2017 - 9:07am

What's the matter with the Bullet Cluster? What's the matter with the Bullet Cluster?


Stardust in the Perseus Molecular cloud

Sun, 01/15/2017 - 9:07am

Clouds of stardust drift through this deep skyscape. Clouds of stardust drift through this deep skyscape.


When Mars met Neptune

Sat, 01/14/2017 - 9:07am

On January 1, a On January 1, a


Pages